Domestic Abuse Lawyer – Gary Wilson
In the state of Michigan, domestic violence laws apply to assaults against persons involved in specific kinds of relationships with the defendant. If you are entering a domestic abuse case, you need a lawyer that will fight for you and the protection of your family. For almost twenty years, attorney Gary M. Wilson has helped the vulnerable in the state of Michigan court of law.
Michigan Domestic Violence Charges
Any time a person abuses another human they have a domestic relationship with, they are susceptible to domestic violence charges. Domestic abuse can be committed by any gender, by any adult. Common examples of “domestic relationships” include:
- A person that resides or resided in the same household
- A person with whom they share a child or children
- A spouse or former spouse
- A person they were or are dating or in a sexual/romantic relationship
The state of Michigan provides victims of domestic abuse with the option to obtain court-ordered personal protection measures. An experienced family abuse attorney can help you navigate the legal system so you can prevent further threats of violence.
Michigan Family Violence
In 1978, the state of Michigan created a Governor-appointed board tasked with the responsibility to reduce domestic violence. The Michigan Domestic and Sexual Violence Prevention and Treatment Board (MDSVPTB) focuses on this serious crime within the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.
The board consists of seven Michigan residents whose professions concern them with family violence and spousal abuse. The Senate provides consent to the appointees, but the Governor makes the initial decision. Together, Board members develop policies to help families in Michigan. The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services provides assistance carrying out these policies.
The MDSVPTB additionally works to develop training and assistance to government agencies that relate to family violence. These agencies include the likes of criminal justice and child welfare. They also help by administering funding for the state services helping victims and those affected by domestic violence.
Domestic Violence Penalties
Domestic assault, as well as domestic assault and battery, are each a misdemeanor for those with no prior convictions for domestic violence crimes. The punishment includes a $500 fine and up to 93 days incarcerated. If the domestic or spousal abuse victim suffers from serious injuries due to the assault, the defendant faces a $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail despite being a first-time offender.
Furthermore, if the defendant has a history of domestic assault, battery, or violence, they face up to a year in prison, a $1000 fine, or possibly both. Judges will check to see if the defendant has a history of committing any act of danger against domestic partners or violating any law in any state similar to Michigan’s assault laws. Finally, if the defendant reaches its third conviction, they face up to two years in prison and up to $2500 in fines for the assault.
Family Attorney Gary M. Wilson
If you need an experienced domestic violence attorney, Gary M. Wilson can help. Call him directly for a consultation. Protect yourself and your family. Call today.